Windswept Daltons

Four Wind Turbines

Evolis is landmarked by four monumental wind turbines commissioned by Electrawinds. The renowned British architect and designer Lord Norman Foster designed the wind turbines for Enercon.

The four iconic wind mills flank the busy E17 international motorway, proving that economy and ecology go hand in hand, and offering up to 30 million drivers per year an inspiring view on a cleaner future.




Named after the Daltons

Tradition has it that wind turbines be aptly named. As there are four of them, and since Lucky Luke was created by the Kortrijk-born Morris (aka Maurice De Bevere), the wind mills were most fittingly named after the Daltons, the quadruplet villains out of the popular Western comics.

The turbine farthest east of the on- and off-ramp “Kortrijk Oost” is named after the smallest Dalton, Joe. The others are subsequently called Jack, William and Averell, honouring Kortrijk’s world-famous cartoonist and spiritual father of the man who shoots faster than his shadow.

Facts and Figures

  • tip height: 149 meters
  • rotor diameter: 82 meters
  • mast height: 107 meters
  • 4 turbines provide power for 5900 households
  • 4 turbines equal a carbon dioxide emissions reduction of 10,311 tons a year
  • blade rotation speed: between 6 and 19.5 RPMs 

For these and more technical specs, please consult the Enercon E-82 fact file.





Mounting the turbines is a step-by-step proces. A short clip was made on the construction works at Evolis.